NaNoWriMo 2016

Gonna try it again. Don’t know how many times I’ve said I was going to do it. Three sounds like how many I actually put pen to paper. Yes, I like to write. With pens and pencils and paper. Which makes it really hard, because transcribing is a bitch. I’ve been using computers for 38 years now. pretty much non-stop. And I can’t touch type. Still. And I’m not stupid. I don’t think. I should be able to, I just can’t. All of my children can. They fly through the words. No so their mother.

Anyway, Nano. You’ve heard of National Novel Writing Month? NaNoWriMo for those of us in the ‘know’. Writers from all walks, aspiring storytellers and published pros, hailing from around the world, set aside the Month of November to write a new novel. 50,000 words. 30 days. Which makes 1667 the magic number. 1667 words a day for 30 days will get you to that magic pie in the sky number. A number that has so far been beyond my grasp.

But, not so this year. This year I have a plan. This year I have an idea going in. I have a beginning and a glimmer of an ending. I have characters and events. I have even an inkling of a timeline. I have a first draft synopsis. Hell, I even have a cover.

Will all that help me get to my 50k? Seriously, I have no idea. But with 2 weeks to go before the 1st of November, I’m feeling pretty good about it. 2 weeks to gather my ideas about me. 2 weeks to live with my characters. 2 weeks to weed out the fatal flaws. LOL.

We’ll see how it goes

~ by onebadpenny on October 15, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
Wonky Dog Design

Shade tree design at its finest....

Writing Is My Wonderland

The scrambled thoughts of a teenage girl trying to figure out life by writing

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Chuck Wendig: Freelance Penmonkey

Itsjennythewren's Blog

My creative space

The Fiction Café

A place where I babble about life, family, and my future as a writer.

let's be lost

// oh, but i'm clearly destined to wander //

A Very Fantasy Corner of Books

by Cassiopeia's Moon

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Official Blog

The Official Blog of Geocaching

